Databases

Why use databases?

With millions of websites online, it can be difficult to determine which ones are credible and which ones are out-of-date, inaccurate, or biased.  Our subscription databases are professionally researched and maintained to provide accurate, up to date information during each use.

Access to all databases is available to anyone who is inside the library, including wireless users.

Databases that can be accessed outside the library have a "Remote" link and require a library card.

Click on the links under "Subject" to visit the library's webpage on resources about a particular topic.

SUBJECT DATABASE DESCRIPTION LIBRARY LINK REMOTE LINK USER NAME & PASSWORD
Business Small Business Reference Center Forms, online books, articles, and videos on most small business topics.

In Library

Remote

Library card number
Children Explora Full-text articles from magazines and other material for elementary children. In Library Remote Library card number
Entertainment Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center Periodicals, books, and videos that focus on hobbies and crafts. In Library Remote Library card number
Genealogy Ancestry Library Edition Searchable census, birth, death, marriage, and military records. In Library NA NA
Genealogy Heritage Quest Searchable census records and special Revolutionary War and Freedman's Bank records. In Library Remote Library card number
Health Consumer Health Complete Health and medical information from medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles. In Library Remote Library card number
Home Home Improvement Reference Center Assist homeowners in do-it-yourself home repair, maintenance, and remodeling projects. In LIbrary Remote Library card number
Interlibrary Loan FirstSearch WorldCat Search millions of items in libraries across the U.S., then submit a request to borrow if our library does not own a copy. In Library Remote Authorization No: 100137782
Password: First five digits of library card.
Jobs Brainfuse JobNow Resume templates and resources, interview tips, career assements, skill building, access to live resume, interview and job coaching and more. In Library Remote Create an account to keep track of progress.
Languages Pronunciator

80 foreign language and ESL courses.

User Manual

Manual de Usuario

In Library Remote Use Library card number to make an account. 
Legal Legal Information Reference Center Full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, publications, and legal forms. In Library Remote Library card number
Literature Poetry & Short Story Reference Center Collection of full-text poetry, short stories, and supplemental content. In Library Remote Library card number
Magazines Ebsco Host Full-text magazine & journal articles, including Consumer Reports. In Library Remote Library card number
Magazines Explora Public Library Search Full-text magazine & journal articles for high school students. In Library Remote Library card number
Spanish Spanish Reference Center Encyclopedia Moderna for high school ages and up and Britannica Escolar Online for ages 6-12. In Library Remote First five digits of your library card number.

Spanish

EBSCOhost Espanol Buscar revistas en español. In Library Remote Library card number

Teens

Explora Articles and other research material for Middle School students. In Library Remote Library card number

Tutoring

Brainfuse HelpNow Live tutoring for K-College on a number of subjects, skill building practice, writing & language labs, chess tutoring and more. In Library Remote Create an account to keep track of progress.

Veterans

Brainfuse VetNow Get live help navigating VA benefits and resources plus specialized job searching assistance. In Library Remote Create an account to keep track of progress.

Thank you to the following organizations for sponsoring the library databases:

  • Oklahoma Department of Libraries provides FirstSearch Worldcat, Ebsco Host, Explora, Brainfuse HelpNow, JobNow and VetNow, and Spanish Reference Center.